The principles obligate the FAA and the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) to identify and publish standards differences and update the differences as each others airworthiness standards are amended.

Standards differences are classified as either significant stanadards differences (SSD), or non-significant stanadards differences (non-SSD). SSDs are those where “the standards are substantively different and may result in type design changes (including approved manuals) to meet the standards of the importing authority different from the design and operation approved by the exporting authority.” Non-SSDs are those differences not classified as significant. Each authority must identify its own lists of SSD and non-SSD.

The SSD and non-SSD lists included on this page are only applicable to FAA validations of Joint Aviation Authorities (JAA) and and EASA part 25 certification projects. EASA will provide similar lists to support European import of US products. These lists include the more stringent 14 CFR part 25 standards that must be complied with. For other standards it has been determined that compliance with the Joint Aviation Regulation (JAR)/EASA certification specifications will meet the minimum standards of 14 CFR part 25, for that particular amendment pair.

For amendment pairs not identified in the table, or for further information on any of the identified differences, contact the FAA Transport Standards Staff:

Bob Breneman, Manager
Manager, International Branch ANM-116
Transport Airplane Directorate
1601 Lind Avenue S.W.
Renton, WA 98057-3356

List of Significant and Non-Significant Standards Differences