Airport Safety Awards

In order to recognize more airports, more often, for all that they do in the name of airport safety, the FAA Southern Region, Airports Division will award the "Airport Safety Mark of Distinction" award.

Mark of Distinction Award medal, front and back views

Selection Criteria

Airports that display exemplary effort or initiative in the name of airport safety will be awarded the "Airport Safety Mark of Distinction" award. Nominations for this award will initially be based on the recommendation of the FAA Southern Region Airport Certification Safety Inspector assigned to that airport. Any special airport program, initiative, effort, or record that has or shows promise to dramatically enhance airport safety, is eligible for recognition. If you have a special program, initiative, or record that you feel is worthy of laudation, let your ACSI know so that he/she can evaluate the effort and determine if it truly meets the standard of the award.

Submission Information

Independent submissions are unnecessary for this award. Normally, airports will be nominated for this award by the Airport Certification Safety Inspector (ACSI) assigned to that airport for actions and efforts in the name of airport safety that the individual ACSI feels are exemplary and worthy of recognition. However, individual airports or airport officials can submit documentation recommending an airport for the award. They should submit nomination documents to the Certification Inspector assigned to that airport for his/her initial review.

Period and deadline

There is no specific period of eligibility for this award. Airports can receive this award any time of the year as the award is based on a specific action, vice a period of time.


The Southern Region Airports Division Airport Certification team will follow-up on all nominations received to determine eligibility.


Airports will be notified soon after receiving the award. Winners will also receive recognition of the award at the next Airports Division conference.

Past award winners

Past winners, Airport Safety Mark of Distinction Award
Year Airport
2013 Augusta Regional Airport (AGS), Augusta, GA
Jacksonville International Airport (JAX), Jacksonville, FL
St. Petersburg-Clearwater International Airport (PIE), Clearwater, FL
Orlando Sanford International Airport (SFB) Sanford, FL
Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport (SRQ), Sarasota, FL
2012 Gainesville, Regional Airport (GNV), Gainesville, FL
Southwest Florida International Airport (RSW), Fort Myers FL
Tupelo Regional Airport (TUP), Tupelo, MS
Tallahassee Regional Airport (TLH), Tallahassee, FL
2011 Golden Triangle Regional Airport (GTR), Columbus, MS
Columbia Metropolitan Airport (CAE), Columbia, SC
Melbourne International Airport (MLB), Melbourne, FL
Tunica Airport (UTA), Tunica, MS
2010 Blue Grass Airport, Lexington, KY
2009 Biloxi Regional Airports, Gulfport, MS
Ft. Lauderdale International Airport, Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, Atlanta, GA
McGhee Tyson Airport, Knoxville, TN
Miami International Airport, Miami, FL
Orlando Sanford Intl., Orlando, FL
2008 Daytona Beach Regional Airport, Daytona Beach, FL
Rocky Mount-Wilson Airport, Rocky Mount/Wilson, NC
2007 Douglas Airport, Charlotte, NC
Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport, Hebron, KY
2006 Greenville-Spartanburg Airport, Greenville, SC
Louisville International Airport, Louisville, KY
2005 Biloxi Regional Airports, Gulfport, MS
Wilmington International Airport, Wilmington, NC
Memphis International Airport, Memphis, TN
Miami International Airport, Miami, FL
McGhee Tyson Airport, Knoxville, TN
2004 Gainesville Regional Airport, Gainesville, FL
Bay County Airport, Panama City, FL
Pitt-Greenville Airport, Greenville, NC