FAA seal

9th Annual Commercial Space Transportation Conference

Preliminary Agenda

Thursday, February 9, 2006
Time Event(s)
7:00 a.m. Registration Opens
7:30 a.m. Space Transportation Association Breakfast (separate registration required)
Speaker: Richard Russell, Deputy Director for Technology, Office of Science and Technology Policy
Topic: “Government’s Role in Commercial Space Transportation”
9:00 a.m. Opening Remarks:
Patricia Grace Smith, Associate Administrator for Commercial Space Transportation
9:15 a.m. Special Guest Speaker:
The Honorable Norman Mineta, Secretary of Transportation
9:45 a.m. Special Guest Speaker:
The Honorable Marion Blakey, FAA Administrator
10:15 a.m. Break
10:30 a.m. Keynote Address:
General Lance W. Lord, Commander, USAF Space Command
11:15 a.m. Session 1 – Marketing Commercial Space (Chuck Larsen)
Debra Facktor Lepore, AirLaunch, LLC
Mike Gold, Esq., Bigelow Aerospace, Inc.
Chuck Lauer, Rocketplane Ltd.
Brant Sponberg, NASA Exploration Systems Mission Directorate
Rob Peckham, Sea Launch Company, LLC
12:45 p.m. Luncheon – Dr. Peter Diamandis, X PRIZE Foundation
2:15 p.m. Session 2 – Dollars and Sense: The Economics of Commercial Space Transportation (Paula Trimble)
Esther Dyson, CNET Networks
Jeff Krukin, Space Frontier Foundation
Matt Jones, U.S. Chamber of Commerce, Space Enterprise Council
Dr. John Olds, SpaceWorks Engineering
3:45 p.m. Featured Speaker: John Herrington, Chief Test Pilot, Rocketplane, Ltd.
4:30 p.m. Break
4:45 p.m. Session 3 – Lesson Plans of the Future: What Is Academia Up To? (Shandy Asturias)
Dr. Eric Hill, Seth-Andrew T. Dion, Justin Karl, and Nicholas Spivey, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Troy Thrash, National Aerospace Development Center
Brian Woodward, X PRIZE Foundation
James Young, Georgia Institute of Technology
6:00 p.m. Session Ends
6:15 p.m. Welcome Reception
Friday, February 10, 2006
Time Event(s)
8:00 a.m. Keynote Address – The Honorable Shana Dale, NASA Deputy Administrator
8:45 a.m. Session 4 – Modernizing National Environmental Policy Act Implementation (Stacey Zee)
Matt McMillen, FAA Office of Environment and Energy
Joe Cascio, Booz Allen Hamilton
Lamar Smith, Federal Highway Administration
10:00 a.m. Break
10:15 a.m. Featured Speaker: Tim Hughes, Chief Counsel, Space Exploration Technologies
11:00 a.m. Session 5 – Commercial Space Safety: Mishap Identification & Mitigation (Odis Kenton)
Rick Baldwin, Virginia Commercial Space Flight Authority
Bruce E. Underwood, NASA/Wallops Flight Facility
Kristen T. Walsh, The Boeing Company
David B. West, Science Applications International Corporation/Huntsville
12:15 p.m. Lunch (On Your Own)
1:30 p.m. Session 6 – Space Tourism: Thought-Provoking Questions (Ken Wong)
Tracey L. Knutson, Esq., Knutson & Associates
John Gantt, Esq., Mizrack & Gantt
Chris Faranetta, Space Adventures, Ltd.
Vincent G. Sabathier, Center for Strategic and International Studies
3:00 p.m. Closing Remarks – Dr. George Nield, Deputy Associate Administrator for Commercial Space Transportation
3:15 p.m. Session Ends
3:30 p.m. Buses Depart for Tour
3:45 p.m. Tour of Smithsonian Air and Space Museum, National Mall
5:45 p.m. Bus Departs for Renaissance Hotel
6:00 p.m. Bus Arrives at Renaissance Hotel

NOTE: This agenda will be updated regularly as new speakers and session members confirm their availability. Check back often.

Updated: 9:18 am ET February 7, 2006
firstgov.gov | Privacy Policy | Web Policies & Notices | Site Map | Contact Us | Frequently Asked Questions | Forms
DOT Seal U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Aviation Administration
800 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20591
1-866-TELL-FAA (1-866-835-5322)

Readers & Viewers: PDF Reader | MS Word Viewer | MS PowerPoint Viewer | MS Excel Viewer | Zip