For Immediate Release

September 25, 2008
Contact: Alison Duquette
Phone: (202) 267-3883

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) today announced that Croatia does not comply with international safety standards set by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), following an assessment of the country’s civil aviation authority in January.

A Category 1 rating means the country’s civil aviation authority complies with ICAO standards. Croatia’s Category 2 safety rating means that the country’s civil aviation authority does not comply with ICAO standards. A Category 2 rating means a country either lacks laws or regulations necessary to oversee air carriers in accordance with international standards, or that its civil aviation authority — equivalent to the FAA for aviation safety matters — is deficient in one or more areas, such as technical expertise, trained personnel, recordkeeping or inspection procedures.

As part of the FAA’s International Aviation Safety Assessment (IASA) program, the agency assesses the civil aviation authorities of all countries with air carriers that operate or might be authorized to fly to the United States and makes that information available to the public. The assessments determine whether or not foreign civil aviation authorities are meeting ICAO safety standards, not FAA regulations.

With the IASA Category 2 rating, Croatian air carriers cannot establish service to the United States. The government of Croatia has informed the FAA that they are working diligently to correct all areas of concern as they move to establish a safety oversight system that will be fully compliant with international standards and recommended practices.

Countries with air carriers that fly to the United States must adhere to the safety standards of ICAO, the United Nations’ technical agency for aviation that establishes international standards and recommended practices for aircraft operations and maintenance.

IASA information is at