For Immediate Release

Release No. ASW 04-04
June 23, 2004
Contact: John Clabes, Roland Herwig
Phone: (405) 954-750

FORT WORTH — Two Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) organizations in the Southwest Region will receive national honors from the agency this week for their work in maintaining and improving aviation safety.

The region's Red River System Management Office in Oklahoma City and the Lone Star System Management Office in Fort Worth, have been named national "facilities of the year."

Both facilities are receiving the award for the second time in a row.

Steve Zaidman, the FAA's vice president for Technical Operations Services, will present the Lone Star national award during ceremonies in Grapevine, Texas, June 23 and the Red River award in Little Rock, Ark., June 24.

The Lone Star office has responsibility for maintenance and operation of 2,000 FAA facilities in Texas, serving 175,000 square miles of airspace surrounding the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex. The office maintains some of the most critical air traffic control and communication equipment in the world, including those at Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, third busiest in the nation. Lone Star has 218 employees.

Red River won in Category 1. Lone Star was cited for winning in Category 3. Both were selected as the FAA's top-performing organizations in Airway Facilities. The award recognizes each organization's dedication and professionalism and the technical achievement of those who maintain a safe and efficient National Airspace System.

The Red River office maintains and modernizes 3,310 facilities in Oklahoma, Arkansas, Texas and Louisiana. Pilots and aircraft use these facilities for navigation and communication with FAA air traffic controllers. Red River employs 190 men and women. The office also provides support for development of electronics technology programs at a number of universities, including Langston, Oklahoma State and the University of Arkansas.

Jo L. Tarrh, manager of the region's Airways Facilities division, said the award recognizes the superior performance by managers and technicians involved in the critical work.