For Immediate Release

March 9, 2005
Contact: John Clabes, Roland Herwig
Phone: (405) 954-7500

FORT WORTH — The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) today honored seven airports in FAA's five-state Southwest Region. Awards were announced during the annual regional airports partnership conference at the Doral Tesoro Hotel & Golf Resort in Fort Worth. The region includes Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas.

In each of the five states, the FAA named a 2004 Airport of the Year to recognize outstanding contributions airports make to enhance aviation in their states. Two other special awards focused on safety and environmental excellence. Woodie Woodward, FAA's associate administrator for airports, made the presentations.

"These airports have contributed significantly to assuring the future growth, safety, and efficiency of the national air transportation system," said Ava L. Wilkerson, FAA Southwest Region administrator.

Outstanding airports in 2004 are: Rogers Municipal Airport, Rogers, AR.; St. John the Baptist Parish Airport, Reserve, LA.; Double Eagle II Airport, near Albuquerque, NM; Cushing Municipal Airport, Cushing, OK.; and Killeen-Fort Hood Municipal Airport, Killeen, TX. Operators of these airports were recognized for diligence in the planning and implementation of projects, airport maintenance, use of airport improvement program resources, and compliance with safety standards.

The FAA region's Airport Safety Award for 2004 went to the Shreveport Regional Airport, Shreveport, LA. The award recognizes one airport in the region for outstanding contribution and commitment to aviation safety. The airport's performance in support of aviation safety initiatives contributed significantly to assuring efficient and safe travel in the Southwest Region and the National Airspace System.

The regional Environmental Achievement Award went to the Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport. The award recognizes environmental stewardship in the airports industry. The award acknowledges those in the industry who have gone above and beyond the requirements of today's environmental regulations. It recognizes those who have truly taken to heart concepts embracing the protection, conservation, and enhancement of our environment.