The Flight Standards Service created the National Examiner Board (NEB) to improve the designee program through innovation, oversight, and standardization. The NEB addresses designee issues, improves the quality of inspector involvement in the designee program, oversees the designee application and screening process, fosters a national designee organization and encourages designee participation in strengthening the national quality of aviation training.

The NEB accepts and evaluates applications for:
  • Designated Airworthiness Representatives (DAR) Amateur Built/Light Sport Aircraft
  • Designated Airworthiness Representatives-Maintenance (DAR-T)
  • Designated Mechanic Examiners (DME)
  • Designated Parachute Rigger Examiners (DPRE)
  • Designated Pilot Examiners (DPE)

The NEB uses the general qualification requirements, technical requirements, and experience criteria detailed in the Orders for each designee type, as applicable, to determine whether applicants meet FAA requirements for the initial designation sought.

If an applicantÂ’s qualifications meet the criteria for acceptance, the NEB:
  • Ranks the applicants against other applicants;
  • Notifies the applicant, by letter, that the application has been accepted;
  • Maintains a national examiner candidate pool that contains the application files of examiner candidates who meet the requirements for the designation sought, categorized by the geographical area(s) the candidate can serve.

The NEB keeps applications from applicants who are not approved for the national examiner candidate pool on file for a period of 120 days from the date of evaluation.