EEO Affirmative Programs

Management Directive (MD-715)

The Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Commission established Management Directive-715 (MD-715) to provide guidance and standards for establishing and maintaining effective and affirmative programs of EEO under Section 717 of Title VII (PART A) and effective affirmative action programs under Section 501 of the Rehabilitation Act (PART B).

Barrier Analysis Reports

The FAA has made an historic commitment to transform the agency into a more diverse and inclusive workplace that reflects, understands, and relates to the diverse customers we serve. To meet this goal and satisfy the requirements of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission MD-715, the Administrator tasked the Office of the Assistant Administrator for Civil Rights to conduct barrier analyses of the Air Traffic Control Specialist (ATCS) Centralized Hiring Process, Aviation Safety Inspectors, and Airway Transportation Systems Specialists.

The first study, completed in 2013, is on the ATCS series. These reports reflect a collaborative effort undertaken by the FAA's Office of Civil Rights, Office of Human Resources, and the Air Traffic Organization. The primary purpose of these reports is to identify and analyze potential barriers to equal employment opportunities within the ATCS Centralized Hiring Process and to offer solutions to establish the foundation for improving the process.

A second study was conducted in 2015 and addressed potential barriers and solutions in the hiring process for aviation safety inspectors.

Special Emphasis Programs

Special Emphasis Programs (SEPs) assist federal government agencies to carry out their equal opportunity initiatives. At FAA, SEPs are an integral part of achieving a Model EEO Program through strategic outreach efforts and collaboration. SEPs assist to educate, attract, and retain all groups, including minorities, women and persons with disabilities to enhance the FAA, as an employer of choice. The Office of Civil Rights is responsible for the management of three national programs required by Presidential Executive orders, as well as the Educational Partnership Initiative.

Last updated: Tuesday, February 13, 2024