The Commercial Space Transportation Advisory Committee (COMSTAC) was established in 1984. Since that time, COMSTAC has provided information, advice, and recommendations to the Department of Transportation and the Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) on the critical matters facing the U.S. commercial space transportation industry. The economic, technical, and institutional expertise provided by COMSTAC members has been invaluable to our work in developing effective regulations that ensure safety during commercial launch operations and policies that support international competitiveness for the industry.

COMSTAC has established working groups that provide information, reports, and recommendations to the full Committee for adoption. COMSTAC currently has four working groups: Systems, Business/Legal, Operations, and Export Controls. The Committee also establishes ad hoc working groups or special task groups to address specific issues as needed.

COMSTAC is governed by the Federal Advisory Committee Act, P.L. 92-463; implemented through 41 CFR Parts 101-6 and 102-3, Federal Advisory Committee Management; Final Rule; DOT Federal Aviation Administration Order 1110.30C, Committee Management; and the COMSTAC Charter, DOT/FAA Order 1110.124G.

The primary goals of COMSTAC are to:

  • Evaluate economic, technological, and institutional developments relating to the U.S. commercial space transportation industry;
  • Provide a forum for the discussion of problems involving the relationship between industry activities and government requirements; and
  • Make recommendations to the Administrator on issues and approaches for Federal policies and programs regarding the industry.

COMSTAC membership consists of senior executives from the commercial space transportation industry; representatives from the satellite industry, both manufacturers and users; state and local government officials; representatives from firms providing insurance, financial investment and legal services for commercial space activities; and representatives from academia, space advocacy organizations, and industry associations.