COMSTAC membership consists of senior executives from the commercial space transportation industry; representatives from the satellite industry, both manufacturers and users; state and local government officials; representatives from firms providing insurance, financial investment and legal services for commercial space activities; and representatives from academia, space advocacy organizations, and industry associations.

Michael N. Gold
Vice President, Washington, DC Operations
Space Systems Loral

Michael Lopez-Alegria
MLA Space, LLC


International Space Policy Working Group

The International Space Policy Working Group (ISPWG) monitors and analyzes domestic and foreign trends, regulations, and policies that impact the global commercial space industry. The ISPWG seeks to identify specific actions that can be taken by the FAA to allow the U.S. commercial space industry to prosper globally in a spirit of international cooperation.

Chair: Mark Sundahl
Associate Dean for Administration
Cleveland State University
Cleveland-Marshall College of Law

Vice-Chair: Jennifer Warren
Vice President, Technology Policy & Regulation, Government & regulatory Affairs
Lockheed Martin Washington Operations

Business/Legal Working Group

The Business/Legal Working Group (BLWG) is responsible for issues concerning commercial space policy, regulations, market, and liability. In 2009, this working group provided recommendations to the FAA regarding the extension of commercial space launch indemnification in the Commercial Space Launch Act. During the first quarter of 2012, the working group responded to an FAA request for insight on the issues surrounding insuring NASA astronauts on commercial launches.

Chair: Christopher Kunstadter
Vice President
XL Insurance

Operations Working Group

The Operations Working Group (OWG) identifies key launch operations, support, and processing issues affecting U.S. commercial space competitiveness; supports accessibility of new commercial space ventures to launch sites and services; and investigates options for commercialization/privatization of launch services, support, and facilities. The OWG was formerly the Space Transportation Working Group (STOWG).

Chair: Janet C. Karika
Executive Director
Interagency Launch Programs

Standards Working Group

The Standards Working Group (SWG) identifies and analyzes key industry standards for commercial space transportation. The working group develops and prioritizes a list of standards that include both expendable launch vehicles and reusable launch vehicles.

Chair: Oscar Garcia
Partner, Chairman, CEO
InterFlight Global Corporation

Vice-Chair: Livingston L. Holder, Jr.
Holder Aerospace


  • Bretton S. Alexander
    Director, Business Development and Strategy
    Blue Origin, LLC
  • Christine Anderson
    Executive Director
    New Mexico Spaceport Authority
  • Chuck Beames
    Vulcan Aerospace Corporation
  • Daniel J. Collins
    Chief Operating Officer
    United Launch Alliance
  • Richard Dalbello
    Vice President, Business Development & Government Affairs
    Virgin Galactic
  • Peter Fahrenthold
    Corporate Director, Risk Management
    Northrop Grumman Corporation
  • Oscar Garcia
    Partner, Chairman, CEO
    InterFlight Global Corporation
  • Michael N. Gold
    Director of D.C. Operations and Business Growth
    Bigelow Aerospace
  • Jeffrey Kenneth Greason
    President /Co-Founder
    XCOR Aerospace
  • Michael D. Griffin
    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
    Schafer Corporation
  • Wayne Hale
    Director of Human Spaceflight
    Special Aerospace Services
  • Dan Hendrickson
    Director of Business Development
    Astrobotic Technology, Inc.
  • Livingston L. Holder, Jr.
    Holder Aerospace
  • Timothy Hughes
    Vice President and Chief Counsel
    Space Exploration Technologies Corporation