The General Aviation and Commercial Division is responsible for regulations and policy recommendations governing the certification, inspection, and surveillance of:

  • General aviation airmen
  • General aviation air agencies (pilot schools)
  • Private operations (part 91 corporate, business, personal and recreational, and subpart K fractional ownership)
  • Public aircraft operations
  • Commercial operations (rotorcraft external load, agricultural, part 125 operators)
  • Designated Pilot Examiners (DPE)

The division is the national focal point for the aviation community on general aviation affairs and sport aviation (excluding light sport pilot).

Division Branches



The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) are developing a Pilot Licensing Annex to the U.S. – EU Agreement on Cooperation in the Regulation of Civil Aviation Safety. The FAA is posting this advanced draft of the annex (PDF) for informational purposes and not seeking comments. Please contact Michael Brown by email or by phone at 734-487-7420 if further information is required.

55 M Street, S.E.,
Washington, DC 20003

Mailing Address:
Federal Aviation Administration
General Aviation and Commercial Division, AFS-800
800 Independence Avenue, S.W.,
Washington, DC 20591

Phone: to (202) 267-1100
Fax: (202) 267-1067