Special Airworthiness Certificate

A limited category special airworthiness certificate is issued to operate surplus military aircraft that have been converted to civilian use under the following conditions:

  • The aircraft has a limited type certificate.
  • The aircraft conforms to its type certificate.
  • The FAA has determined that the aircraft is safe to operate.
  • No person may operate a limited category civil aircraft carrying persons or property for compensation or hire.

FAA Order 8130.2, Airworthiness Certification of Aircraft, contains a list of aircraft models that have been issued limited category type certificates.

Special airworthiness certificates regulations & policies

Last updated: Wednesday, June 29, 2022