Skip to page content

Special Airworthiness Certificate

Multiple Airworthiness Certificates

Under certain circumstances, an aircraft owner may be entitled to multiple airworthiness certificates. You may obtain an airworthiness certificate in the restricted category, and in one or more other categories except primary category, if you show:
  • Compliance with the requirements for each category, when the aircraft is configured for that category.
  • That the aircraft can be converted from one category to another by removing or adding equipment by simple mechanical means.

Once the airworthiness certificates are issued, the operator of the aircraft shall have the aircraft inspected by the FAA or a certificated mechanic to determine airworthiness each time the aircraft is converted from restricted to standard categories.

Special airworthiness certificates regulations & policies

Page last modified:

This page was originally published at: