Skip to page content

Special Airworthiness Certificate

Primary Category

A Primary Category, special airworthiness certificate is issued to operate aircraft that have been type certificated in the primary category. Aircraft in this category are of a simple design and intended exclusively for pleasure and personal use. Although these aircraft may be available for rental and flight instruction under certain conditions, the carrying of persons or property for hire is prohibited.

Aircraft certificated in this category must be manufactured under a production certificate. This includes aircraft assembled from a kit under the production certificate holder's supervision and quality control system. Kit-built aircraft built without the production certificate holder's supervision are only eligible for certification in the experimental category.

Special airworthiness certificates regulations & policies

Page last modified:

This page was originally published at: