Skip to page content
Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is available on For FAA-specific COVID-19 resources, please visit
United States Department of TransportationUnited States Department of Transportation

Standard Airworthiness Certificate

What is a standard airworthiness certificate?
A standard airworthiness certificate (FAA form 8100-2 displayed in the aircraft) is the FAA's official authorization allowing for the operation of type certificated aircraft in the following categories:
  • Normal
  • Utility
  • Acrobatic
  • Commuter
  • Transport
  • Manned free balloons
  • Special classes
A standard airworthiness certificate remains valid as long as the aircraft meets its approved type design, is in a condition for safe operation and maintenance, preventative maintenance, and alterations are performed in accordance with 14 CFR parts 21, 43, and 91.

Is the existing standard airworthiness certificate transferable when I buy a used aircraft, or must I apply for re-issue of a new standard airworthiness certificate?
The existing standard airworthiness certificate is transferable to you (14 CFR section 21.179). As the owner you must first register the aircraft, and the aircraft must still conform to its approved type design, and be in a condition for safe operation.

Airworthiness certification process

Standard airworthiness certification regulations & policies

Page last modified: