Skip to page content

Chief Scientific and Technical Advisors Program Directory

Points of Contact:


For information about the program, position vacancies, or other inquiries, please contact the CSTA Program Office at 202-267-9571.
CSTA Contact Information  
Kathy H. Abbott, PhD,  Flight Deck Human Factors
Federal Aviation Administration
National Headquarters
800 Independence Ave., SW
Washington, DC  20591
Email:  kathy.abbott@faa.gov

202-369-2155

Ken Alexander,  Satellite Navigation Systems
Federal Aviation Administration
470 L'Enfant Plaza SW, Suite 4102
Washington, DC 20024
Email:  ken.alexander@faa.gov

202-236-9794

Ann Azevedo,  Aircraft Safety Analysis
FAA, Suite 206
1699 King St.
Enfield, CT 06082
Email:  ann.azevedo@faa.gov

860-490-2512

Michael Gorelik, PhD,  Fatigue and Damage Tolerance
Federal Aviation Administration
Scottsdale FSDO
17777 N Perimeter Dr.
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Email:  Michael.Gorelik@faa.gov

480-419-0330, x258
Fax: 480-419-0800

Larry B. Ilcewicz, PhD,  Advanced Composite Materials
Federal Aviation Administration
Northwest Mountain Region
2200 S. 216th Street
Des Moines, WA 98198
Email:  larry.ilcewicz@faa.gov

206-231-3147

Bill Johnson, PhD,  Human Factors in Aircraft Maintenance Systems
Federal Aviation Administration
Southern Region
1348 Heathers Grove Circle
Hiawassee, GA 30546
Email:  Bill-Dr.Johnson@faa.gov

678-777-3873
Fax: 404-305-6008

Edward Johnson, PhD,  Wake Turbulence
FAA National Headquarters
800 Independence Ave SW
Orville Wright Bldg (FOB10A)
Washington, DC 20591
Email: edward.johnson@faa.gov

757-864-7602
Fax: 757-864-8858

Joseph Pellettiere, PhD,  Crash Dynamics
Federal Aviation Administration
FAA Orlando CMO-29
5950 Hazeltine National Dr
Orlando, FL 32822
Email:  joseph.pellettiere@faa.gov
937-822-1073
George Romanski,  Aircraft Computer Software
Federal Aviation Administration
Burlington, MA 01803
Email:  george.romanski@faa.gov

Phone: 781-238-7180
Mobile: 603-402-6315

Jeffery Schroeder, PhD,  Flight Simulation Systems
Federal Aviation Administration
NASA Ames Research Center
Building 210
Moffett Field, CA 94035
Email:  jeffery.schroeder@faa.gov

650-604-4037
Fax: 650-604-0752

Peter F. Skaves,  Advanced Avionics
Federal Aviation Administration
2070 Biller Circle
The Villages, FL 32163
Email:  peter.skaves@faa.gov

425-802-0395

David B. Walen,  Electromagnetic Interference and Lightning
Federal Aviation Administration
Northwest Mountain Region
2200 S. 216th Street
Des Moines, WA 98198
Email:  dave.walen@faa.gov

206-231-3149

STS Contact Information  
Cindy Ashforth,  Advanced Composite Materials
Federal Aviation Administration
Northwest Mountain Region
2200 S. 216th Street
Des Moines, WA 98198
Email:  cindy.ashforth@faa.gov

206-231-3239

Colleen Donovan,  Flight Deck Human Factors
950 L'Enfant Plaza SW, 5th Floor
Washington, DC 20024
Email:  colleen.donovan@faa.gov

202-267-3173

John Fisher,  Aircraft Icing
New England Regional Office
1200 District Ave, 4th Floor
Burlington, MA 01803
Email:  john.fisher@faa.gov

781-402-4179
Fax: 781-238-7199

Jeff Gardlin,  Aircraft Cabin Security and Survivability
Federal Aviation Administration
Northwest Mountain Region
2200 S. 216th Street
Des Moines, WA 98198
Email: jeff.gardlin@faa.gov

206-231-3146

Mark Rumizen,  Aviation Fuels & Lubricants
Federal Aviation Administration
New England Regional Office
12 New England Executive Park
Room Number: Bldg 16
Burlington, MA 01803
Email:  mark.rumizen@faa.gov

781-238-7113
Fax: 781-238-7199


Unassigned:
  • Advanced Control Systems
  • Aeronautical Communications
  • Flight Loads/Aeroelasticity
  • Nondestructive Evaluation
  • Nondestructive Inspection
  • Propulsion Control Systems
  • Vulnerability Discovery and Safety Measurement Programs

Page last modified:

This page was originally published at: https://www.faa.gov/aircraft/air_cert/design_approvals/csta/directory/