Skip to page content

AVS Human Factors Directory

The FAA Office of Aviation Safety (AVS) has two Chief Scientific and Technical Advisors (CSTAs) in human factors and several Human Factors Specialists in the Aircraft Certification Service (AIR), Flight Standards Service (AFS), and Office of Aviation Medicine (AAM).

Click on the names below to see their biography, if available.

Chief Scientific and Technical Advisors (CSTA)
Kathy H. Abbott, PhD** CSTA for Flight Deck Human Factors
National Headquarters
Washington, DC
202-369-2155
kathy.abbott@faa.gov
Bill Johnson, PhD** CSTA for Human Factors in Aircraft Maintenance Systems
Southern Region Office
Atlanta, GA
678-777-3873
bill-dr.johnson@faa.gov
Senior Technical Specialists (STS)
Colleen Donovan** STS for Flight Deck Human Factors
National Headquarters
Washington, DC
202-267-3173
colleen.donovan@faa.gov
Aircraft Certification Policy and Innovation Division (AIR-600)
Paul Siegmund* Airplane & Flight Crew Interface Section, Manager
Northwest Mountain (AIR-671)
Seattle, WA
206-231-3162
paul.siegmund@faa.gov
John Stuber* Airplane & Flight Crew Interface Section
Northwest Mountain (AIR-671)
Seattle, WA
206-231-3164
john.stuber@faa.gov
Cathy Swider System and Equipment Standards Branch
National Headquarters (AIR-6B4)
Washington, DC
202- 267-1657
cathy.swider@faa.gov
Michelle Yeh System and Equipment Standards Branch
National Headquarters (AIR-6B4)
Washington, DC
202-267-1679
michelle.yeh@faa.gov
Aircraft Certification Compliance and Airworthiness Division (AIR-700)
Jason Brys* Miltary Certification Office
Acting Manager (AIR-7G0)
Wichita, KS
316-350-1584
jason.brys@faa.gov
Clark Davenport Southwest Flight Test Section (AIR-713) Fort Worth, TX
817-222-5151
clark.davenport@faa.gov
Sydney Palmsteen Southeast Flight Test Section (AIR-712) Atlanta, GA
404-474-5562
sydney.palmsteen@faa.gov
Shaun Ripple* Northwest Flight Test Section (AIR-715) Seattle, WA
206-231-3585
shaun.ripple@faa.gov
David Sizoo* Central Flight Test Section (AIR-714) Kansas City, MO
816-329-4158
david.sizoo@faa.gov
Kyle Smith Central Flight Test Section (AIR-714) Wichita, KS
316-946-4170
kyle.e.smith@faa.gov
Mariusz Wisniewski ("Ski") Southeast Flight Test Section (AIR-712) Atlanta, GA
404-474-5556
mariusz.wisniewski@faa.gov
Flight Standards Service (AFX)
Mark Reisweber
Flight Operations Simulation and Analysis Branch
Mike Monroney Aeronautical Center
Oklahoma City, OK
405-954-6962
mark.reisweber@faa.gov
Christy Helgeson Aviation Safety Inspector Central Region, on Detail to Northwest Mountain (AEG-11) Seattle, WA
206-231-3923
christy.helgeson@faa.gov
UAS Integration Office (AUS)
Steve Plishka Human Factors Engineer,
UAS Integration Office
National Headquarters (AUS-420)
Washington, DC
202-267-8247
stephen.plishka@faa.gov
Accident Investigation and Prevention (AVP)
Sabrina Woods Aviation Accident and
Incident Analyst
National Headquarters (AVP-100)
Washington, DC
202-267-9363
sabrina.woods@faa.gov

NOTES:
* - These individuals have human factors-related responsibilities, but are not categorized as human factors specialists.
** - Attached to Compliance and Airworthiness Division, AIR-600

Human Factors Specialists in Aviation Medicine (AAM)

Information about Human Factors Specialists in AAM is available on their webpage, Aerospace Medical and Human Factors Research.

 

Page last modified:

This page was originally published at: https://www.faa.gov/aircraft/air_cert/design_approvals/human_factors/hf-directory/