Skip to page content
Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is available on Coronavirus.gov. For FAA-specific COVID-19 resources, please visit faa.gov/coronavirus.
United States Department of TransportationUnited States Department of Transportation

AVS Human Factors Directory

The FAA Office of Aviation Safety (AVS) has two senior technical experts in human factors and several human factors specialists in the Aircraft Certification Service (AIR), Flight Standards Service (AFS), and Office of Aviation Medicine (AAM).

Click on the names below to see their biography, if available.

Chief Scientific and Technical Advisors (CSTA)
Kathy H. Abbott, PhD** CSTA for Flight Deck Human Factors
Aviation Safety (AVS)
Washington, DC
202-369-2155
kathy.abbott@faa.gov
Senior Technical Specialists (STS)
Colleen Donovan** STS for Flight Deck Human Factors
Aviation Safety (AVS)
Washington, DC
202-267-3173
colleen.donovan@faa.gov
Aircraft Certification Policy and Innovation Division (AIR-600)
Mary Schooley, PhD Technical Innovation Policy Branch
Human Machine Interface (Manager) (AIR-626)
Seattle, WA
206-231-3235
mary.a.schooley@faa.gov
Paul Siegmund* Technical Innovation Policy Branch
Aircraft Information Systems (Manager) (AIR-622)
Seattle, WA
206-231-3162
paul.siegmund@faa.gov
Carrie Bell Technical Innovation Policy Branch
Human Machine Interface (AIR-626)
Washington, DC
202-267-8857
caroline.j.bell@faa.gov
Kevin Gildea, PhD Technical Innovation Policy Branch
Human Machine Interface (AIR-626)
Oklahoma City, OK
405-954-7481
Kevin.Gildea@faa.gov
John Stuber* Technical Innovation Policy Branch
Aircraft Information Systems (AIR-622)
Seattle, WA
206-231-3164
john.stuber@faa.gov
Cathy Swider Technical Innovation Policy Branch
Human Machine Interface (AIR-626)
Washington, DC
202- 267-1657
cathy.swider@faa.gov
Lauren Thomas Technical Innovation Policy Branch
Human Machine Interface (AIR-626)
Washington, DC
202-267-7815
lauren.j.thomas@faa.gov
Jason Brys* Compliance & Airworthiness Division
Military Certification Office
(AIR-7G0)
Wichita, KS
316-350-1584
jason.brys@faa.gov
Shaun Ripple* Compliance & Airworthiness Division
Flight Test Branch (Northwest Section) (AIR-715)
Seattle, WA
206-231-3585
shaun.ripple@faa.gov
David Sizoo* Compliance & Airworthiness Division
Flight Test Branch (Central Section) (AIR-714)
Kansas City, MO
816-329-4158
david.sizoo@faa.gov
Sydney Palmsteen Compliance & Airworthiness Division
Flight Test Branch (Southeast Section) (AIR-712)
Hapeville, GA
404-474-5562
sydney.palmsteen@faa.gov
Kyle Smith Compliance & Airworthiness Division
Flight Test Branch (Central Section) (AIR-714)
Wichita, KS
316-946-4170
kyle.e.smith@faa.gov
Michelle Yeh, PhD Compliance & Airworthiness Division
Flight Test Branch (Southwest Section) (AIR-713)
Fort Worth, TX
Not available
michelle.yeh@faa.gov
Joey Jaworski Compliance & Airworthiness Division
Flight Test Branch (Southwest Section) (AIR-713)
Fort Worth, TX
716-713-9397
joseph.m.jaworski@faa.gov
Mariusz Wisniewski ("Ski") Compliance & Airworthiness Division
Flight Test Branch (Southeast Section) (AIR-712)
Hapeville, GA
404-474-5556
mariusz.wisniewski@faa.gov
Aircraft Certification Compliance and Airworthiness Division (AIR-700)
Christy Helgeson Supervisory Aviation Safety Inspector
Safety Standards Division
Aircraft Evaluation Group (AFS-110)
Seattle, WA
206-231-3923
christy.helgeson@faa.gov
Dwayne Morrison Safety Standards Division
Aircraft Evaluation Group (AFS-100)
Lakeland, FL
206-231-4249
dwayne.morrison@faa.gov
Steve Poiani Safety Standards Division
Aircraft Evaluation Group (AFS-100)
Albuquerque, NM
206-231-4248
steve.poiani@faa.gov
Eric Roberts, PhD Safety Standards Division
Aircraft Evaluation Group (AFS-100)
Richmond, IL
206-231-3983
eric.g.roberts@faa.gov
Richard Szoka Safety Standards Division
Aircraft Evaluation Group (AFS-100)
Seattle, WA
206-231-3981
richard.c.szoka@faa.gov
Clark Davenport Safety Standards Division
Aircraft Evaluation Group (AFS-100)
Fort Worth, TX
817-222-5151
clark.davenport@faa.gov
Pam Munro Safety Standards Division
Aircraft Evaluation Group (AFS-100)
Seattle, WA
206-231-3995
Pamela.A.Munro@faa.gov
Mark Reisweber Flight Technologies and Procedures Division Flight Research and Analysis (AFS-430) Oklahoma City, OK
405-954-6962
mark.reisweber@faa.gov
Flight Standards Service (AFX)
UAS Integration Office (AUS)
Steve Plishka Technology Programs Branch
Airway Transportation Systems (AUS-420)
Washington, DC
202-267-8247
stephen.plishka@faa.gov
Accident Investigation and Prevention (AVP)
Sabrina Woods, PhD Office of Accident Investigation & Prevention
Accident Investigation Division (AVP-100)
Washington, DC
202-267-9363
sabrina.woods@faa.gov

NOTES:
* - These individuals have human factors-related responsibilities, but are not categorized as human factors specialists.
** - Responsibilities across AVS, but organizationally attached to AIR-602

Human Factors Specialists in Aviation Medicine (AAM)

Information about Human Factors Specialists in AAM is available on their webpage, Aerospace Medical and Human Factors Research.

Page last modified: