Skip to page content
Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is available on For FAA-specific COVID-19 resources, please visit
United States Department of TransportationUnited States Department of Transportation

Legacy EU Member State IPAs and BAAs

NOTE: Contact AIR-40 at for assistance when using one of these legacy Implementation Procedures for Airworthiness (IPAs) or legacy Bilateral Airworthiness Agreements (BAAs) in support of a project, and before contacting an Authority about use and effectivity of these documents.

Legacy IPAs

Before the formation of EASA, the FAA had IPAs with seven EU member states. On May 5, 2011 the FAA-EASA Technical Implementation Procedures (TIP) for Airworthiness and Environmental Certification went into effect. The TIP supports the Agreement between the Government of the United States of America and the European Union on Cooperation in the Regulation of Civil Aviation Safety, which was signed in 2008. The TIP supersedes the existing IPAs for the aircraft, products, and services for which EASA has assumed responsibility as listed under the EU Basic Regulation. The legacy IPAs are still necessary when working with the National Aviation Authorities (NAAs) for products and services for which EASA has not superseded the NAAs' regulatory responsibility. Contact AIR-40 for additional clarification and support.

Legacy BAAs

Similar to the legacy IPAs provided above, some older BAAs and Executive Agreements (EAs) also include scope details that remain in effect. For the scope details that remain under the purview of the NAA, and where no IPA exists, these legacy BAAs and EAs remain valid:

Page last modified: