For Immediate Release

Release No. ASW 10-02
March 6, 2003
Contact: John Clabes, Roland Herwig
Phone: (405) 954-7500

FORT WORTH — The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) today honored six airports and the Texas Department of Transportation. The recognition, in FAA’s five-state Southwest Region, came on day-two of FAA’s annual regional airports partnership conference at the Westin Beechwood Hotel and Resort in Fort Worth, Texas.

Airport of the Year for 2001 recognizes the outstanding contribution airports made to enhance aviation in their state.

“We recognize airport owners and operators who have worked in a spirit of cooperation with the FAA and the entire aviation community,” Naomi L. Saunders, FAA regional airports division manager, told participants. Saunders noted that this cooperation is vital “to accomplish our common objectives of planning and building the most safe and efficient system of airports in the nation.”

Year 2001 Outstanding Airport Awards went to: Siloam Springs – Smith Field, Arkansas; Minden/Webster Airport, Louisiana; Portales Municipal Airport, New Mexico; Shawnee Municipal Airport, Oklahoma; and San Antonio International Airport, Texas. Owners of these airports were recognized for overall diligence in the planning and implementation of projects, airport maintenance, use of airport improvement program resources, and compliance with safety standards.

The FAA region’s Airport Safety Award for 2001 went to the Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport. The award recognizes one airport in the region for outstanding contribution and commitment to aviation safety. The airport’s performance in support of aviation safety initiatives significantly contributed to assuring the efficiency of safe travel in the Southwest Region and the National Airspace System.

The regional Environmental Achievement Award went to the Texas Department of Transportation. The award recognizes environmental stewardship in the airports industry. The award acknowledges those in the industry who have gone above and beyond the requirements of today’s environmental regulations. It recognizes those who have truly taken to heart concepts embracing the protection, conservation, and enhancement of our environment.