Center of Excellence for Commercial Space Transportation (COE CST)

Building the Future of Space Transportation

Congress authorized the Centers of Excellence for Commercial Space Transportation under the Federal Aviation Administration Research, Engineering and Development Authorization Act of 1990. This legislation enables the FAA to work with universities and their industry partners to conduct research in environment and aviation safety, and other activities to assure a safe and efficient air transportation system. With the establishment of the COE CST in offices of FAA AST, research will extend to cutting-edge technologies and infrastructure for private human spaceflight and orbital debris mitigation.

FAA AST (Office of Commercial Space Transportation):

The COE CST member universities include:

  • Baylor College of Medicine
  • Florida Institute of Technology (FIT, or Florida Tech)
  • Florida State University (FSU)
  • New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, (NMT, or New Mexico Tech)
  • New Mexico State University (NMSU)
  • Stanford University (SU)
  • University of Central Florida (UCF)
  • University of Colorado at Boulder (CU)
  • University of Florida (UF)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (UTMB)

The research and development efforts for the new Centers will include four major research areas:

  • Aerospace Access & Operations
  • Aerospace Vehicles
  • Human Ops & Spaceflight
  • Industry Innovation

For more information, please visit the COE CST Website

Last updated: Friday, May 27, 2022