Original Design Approval - U.S. Manufactured Products

The FAA provides an overview of the product design approval process in the FAA and Industry Guide to Product Certification (CPI Guide (PDF)). The five phases of the process are:

  • Phase I:  Conceptual Design
  • Phase II:  Requirements Definition
  • Phase III:  Compliance Planning
  • Phase IV:  Implementation
  • Phase V:  Post Certification


Last updated: Friday, July 7, 2023