Transport Airplanes – International Validation

The process for international validation is controlled by:

Some bilateral agreements refer to certain lists that are used, in part, to frame the involvement of the FAA as validating authority. These lists are provided below and include special/safety emphasis items (SEI), significant standards differences (SSD) and non-SSD, and areas for further technical confidence building (AFTCB).

Import: Foreign Products and Approvals Seeking Validation by the FAA

Export: U.S. Approvals Seeking Validation by a Foreign Authority

  • European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)
  • Brazilian National Agency for Civil Aviation (ANAC)
  • Civil Aviation Authority of China
    • SEI
    • SSD*
      * Note: Although the CAAC SSD list indicates a requirement for Instructions for Continued Airworthiness (ICAs) in Chinese, ICAs in English are acceptable to the CAAC, pending a clarifying note in a future revision of the SSD list.
    • AFTCB
  • United Kingdom Civil Aviation Authority (UK CAA)

Ongoing Harmonization Efforts:


For further information, contact:
Manager, Product Policy Management: Transport Airplanes & Engines Section, AIR-62A
220 S. 216th St.
Des Moines, WA 98198

Last updated: Friday, February 9, 2024