Skip to page content

USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

United States Department of TransportationUnited States Department of Transportation

Aviation Safety

Obtaining Certification Approval from China

Implementation Procedures for Airworthiness (IPA) Frequently Asked Questions

Steps to Obtain CAAC Certification Approvals

Type Certificate (TC)

Supplemental Type Certificate (STC)


The Implementation Procedures for Airworthiness (IPA) between the FAA and the Civil Aviation Administration of China (CAAC) references 3 outside lists, identified in section Special Emphasis Items (SEI), Significant Standards Differences (SSD), and Areas for Further Technical Confidence Building (AFTCB).

CAAC lists: apply to U.S. approvals seeking validation by the CAAC

FAA lists: apply to Chinese approvals seeking validation by the FAA

Page last modified: