Skip to page content
Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is available on For FAA-specific COVID-19 resources, please visit
United States Department of TransportationUnited States Department of Transportation

14 CFR Part 135 Air Carrier and Operator Certification

This website contains general information on Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (14 CFR) part 135 certificates, requirements for certification, and the certification process. This site is designed to assist an applicant in determining if their proposed operation could be conducted Part 135, in determining what type of 135 certification they wish to pursue, general requirements for certification, and the FAA certification process.

  1. General Information
    1. General Information
    2. Types of 14 CFR 135 Operations
    3. Kinds of 14 CFR 135 Certificate Operating Authorities
    4. Scope of Part 135 certificates
  2. General Requirements for Certification
    1. General Requirements for Certification
    2. Company Ownership
    3. Principal Base of Operation
    4. Aircraft
    5. Maintenance Requirements for Part 135 operations
    6. Economic Authority
    7. Insurance
    8. Management Personnel
    9. Manuals
    10. HazMat Manual- Will or Will-Not Carry Program
    11. Training Programs
    12. Drug and Alcohol Program Requirements
    13. Transportation Security Administration (TSA) security program requirements for Part 135 certificate holders
    14. Minimum Equipment List (MEL)
    15. Proving and Validation Testing
    16. Pilots Record Improvement Act (PRIA) of 1996
  3. Certification Process
    1. Certification Process General Information
    2. Phase 1 — Pre-application
    3. Phase 2 — Formal Application
    4. Phase 3 — Design Assessment
    5. Phase 4 — Performance Assessment
    6. Phase 5 — Administrative Functions
  4. Resources

Page last modified: