Senior Technical Experts Program (STEP) – Disciplines and Experts

STEP comprises an elite cadre of scientists and technical specialists who apply their world-class expertise to the ongoing work of promoting safety-enhancing innovation, policies, and practices in the FAA's regulatory, certification, and oversight programs. Technical disciplines, as well as biographies and contact information for the associated Chief Scientist and Technical Advisors (CSTA) and Senior Technical Specialists (STS) are listed below.

Advanced Cabin Safety

Jeff Gardlin, CSTA
2200 S 216th Street
Des Moines, WA 98198

jeff.gardlin@faa.gov

Advanced Composite Materials

Larry Ilcewicz, Ph.D., CSTA
2200 S 216th Street
Des Moines, WA 98198 

larry.ilcewicz@faa.gov

Cindy Ashforth, STS
2200 S 216th Street
Des Moines, WA 98198 

cindy.ashforth@faa.gov

Advanced Manufacturing and Materials

Thomas Broderick, Ph.D., CSTA
2200 S 216th Street
Des Moines, WA 98198

thomas.f.broderick@faa.gov

Aircraft Computer Software

George Romanski, CSTA
1200 District Avenue
Burlington, MA 01803

george.romanski@faa.gov

Artificial Intelligence – Machine Learning

Trung Pham, Ph.D., CSTA
10101 Hillwood Pkwy
Fort Worth, TX 76177

trung.t.pham@faa.gov

Aviation Fuels

Dr. Paul Wrzesinski, STS
6424 Denning Ave  
Oklahoma City, OK 73169

paul.j.wrzesinski@faa.gov

Crash Dynamics

Joseph Pellettiere, Ph.D., CSTA
8427 South Park Cir
Orlando, FL 32819

joseph.pellettiere@faa.gov

Dynamic Systems

Bimal Aponso, CSTA
2200 S 216th Street
Des Moines, WA 98198

bimal.l.aponso@faa.gov

Fatigue and Damage Tolerance

Michael Gorelik, Ph.D., CSTA
17777 N Perimeter Dr
Scottsdale AZ 85255

michael.gorelik@faa.gov

Flight Deck Human Factors

Kathy Abbott, Ph.D., CSTA
800 Independence Avenue SW
Washington, DC  20591 

kathy.abbott@faa.gov

Colleen Donovan, STS
800 Independence Avenue SW
Washington, DC  20591

colleen.donovan@faa.gov

Flight Meteorological Effects

Cris Bosetti, CSTA
2200 S 216th Street
Des Moines, WA 98198

cris.k.bosetti@faa.gov

Flight Simulation Systems

Jeffery Schroeder, Ph.D., CSTA
NASA Ames Research Center
Moffett Field, CA 94035 

jeffery.schroeder@faa.gov

Larry McDonald, STS
107 Charles W. Grant Pkwy
Hapeville, GA 30354

larry.e.mcdonald@faa.gov

High Energy Electromagnetic Effects

Rob Steinle, CSTA
2200 S 216th Street
Des Moines, WA 98198

robert.s.steinle@faa.gov

Propulsion Systems

Dr. Catalin Fotache, CSTA
1200 District Ave
Burlington, MA 01803

catalin.g.fotache@faa.gov

Safety and Risk Analysis

Michael Bartron, CSTA
1699 King Street
Enfield, CT 06082

michael.s.bartron@faa.gov

Satellite Navigation Systems

Ken Alexander, CSTA
800 Independence Avenue
Washington, DC 20591 

ken.alexander@faa.gov

Wake Turbulence

Edward Johnson, Ph.D., CSTA
12 Langley Blvd
Hampton, VA 23681

edward.johnson@faa.gov

For more information about STEP, contact the Senior Technical Experts Office (AIR-20)

Last updated: Thursday, May 9, 2024