Melchor J. Antu�ano, M.D., M.S. Director, Civil Aerospace Medical Institute
Office of Aerospace Medicine
Federal Aviation Administration

Dr. Antu�ano was born in Mexico City and is a graduate of the National Autonomous University of Mexico School of Medicine. He completed the Residency Program in Aerospace Medicine at Wright State University School of Medicine in Dayton, Ohio. He was awarded a post-doctoral research associateship by the National Research Council of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences at the USAF School of Aerospace Medicine in San Antonio, Texas.

Dr. Antu�ano is currently the Director of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Civil Aerospace Medical Institute (CAMI) in Oklahoma City. He provides executive direction and is responsible for the administration of FAA Office of Aerospace Medicine�s programs in Medical Certification, Medical Education, Medical Research, Human Factors Research, and Occupational Health Services. These include:
  1. a program to fulfill the aeromedical certification needs of approximately 620,000 holders of U.S. pilot certificates,
  2. a program for the selection, designation, training, and management of about 4,000 Aviation Medical Examiners (AMEs) appointed to conduct medical examinations and issue FAA medical certificates to U.S. pilot certificate holders across the U.S. and in 93 countries worldwide,
  3. education programs in aviation physiology, global survival, and aviation human factors for FAA flight crews and civil aviation pilots,
  4. aerospace medical publications and other didactic materials used to disseminate medical information to promote aerospace safety,
  5. a highly specialized library system in support of a broad range of aerospace medical and aerospace safety research programs,
  6. an integrated program of field and laboratory performance research in organizational and human factors aspects of aerospace work environments,
  7. an applied research program to identify human tolerances, capabilities and failure modes (physiological, psychological, and performance) both in uneventful flights, and during civilian inflight incidents and accidents,
  8. an occupational medicine program to improve the safety of FAA employees at the Mike Monroney Aeronautical Center (MMAC), and
  9. a medical clinic that provides health services to employees and students at the MMAC.
Dr. Antu�ano is credited with 511 professional presentations and invited lectures at national and international conferences in aerospace medicine in 31 countries, and with 55 scientific publications covering a variety of aerospace medicine topics. He is Fellow and Past-President of the U.S. Aerospace Medical Association, Past-President of the Space Medicine Society, Past-President of the Iberoamerican Association of Aerospace Medicine, Chancellor of the International Academy of Aviation and Space Medicine, member of the International Academy of Astronautics, Fellow of the Aerospace Human Factors Association, Honorary Member of the Brazilian Society of Aerospace Medicine, Honorary Member of the Colombian Society of Aviation Medicine, Honorary Member of the Greek Aerospace Medical Association, Honorary Member of the Mexican Society of Aviation Medicine, Honorary Member of the Slovanian Aerospace Medical Association, and Honorary Member of the Turkish Civil Aviation Medicine Association. He is an Associate Professor at the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston TX, Assistant Professor at Wright State University School of Medicine in Dayton OH, and Adjunct Professor at the National University of Colombia School of Medicine in Bogota.

Dr. Antu�ano has received 65 awards and recognitions for his academic, administrative, and research achievements including:
  • �DOT Secretary�s Award for Meritorious Achievement: Silver Medal� granted by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation for outstanding accomplishments in promoting aviation safety in the U.S. and abroad, through aeromedical education;
  • "Outstanding Manager Award" granted (3 times) by the FAA Office of Aerospace Medicine;
  • "Arthur S. Flemming Award" granted by the George Washington University for outstanding accomplishments in the promotion of aviation safety in the U.S. and abroad through the exercise of inspiring leadership and professionalism;
  • �2008 Employee of the Year Award - Supervisory/Managerial Category� granted by the Oklahoma Federal Executive Board;
  • "Eric Liljencrantz Award" granted by the Aerospace Medical Association for excellence as an educator in aerospace medicine;
  • "John A. Tamisiea Memorial Award" granted by the Aerospace Medical Association and the Civil Aviation Medical Association for unique contributions to the aviation medical examiner activities through the introduction of innovative and creative teaching procedures for AMEs;
  • �Young Investigator Award" given by the Space Medicine Branch of the Aerospace Medical Association for authorship of the most outstanding paper by a young investigator;
  • �Congressional Certificate of Recognition for Contributions to Improve Aviation Safety in Colombia through Continuing Medical Education� granted by the House of Representatives of the Republic of Colombia,
  • �Honorary Federal Air Surgeon� granted by the Director General of the Civil Aviation Authority of the Dominican Republic.