Types of Operations

illustration of plane taking offUnder Title 49 of the United States Code ("the Statute"), any person who intends to provide air transportation service as an air carrier must first obtain two separate authorizations from the Department of Transportation: "safety" authority in the form of an Air Carrier Certificate and Operations Specifications from the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).

Air carrier operations cannot commence until a certificate is issued. Included in this process, is the permission to carry dangerous goods or a prohibition on carrying dangerous goods. This must be completed prior to accepting dangerous goods for transport.

The FAA Office of Hazardous Materials Safety Program (HMSP) works in conjunction with the Office of Aviation Safety (AVS) and Flight Standards Service (AFS) in certification and oversight of Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations Part certificate holders and operators. Below you will find the most common types of operations the HMSP oversees. If you require a more detailed description, please refer to 14 CFR and the applicable part number.

  • Part 91 General Operating and Flight Rules
  • Part 119 Certification of Air Carriers and Commercial Operators
  • Part 121 Domestic, Flag, and Supplemental Operations.
  • Part 129 Foreign Air Carriers and Foreign Operators of U.S. Registered Aircraft Engaged in Common Carriage.
  • Part 133 Rotorcraft External-Load Operations
  • Part 135 Commuter and On Demand Operations and Rules Governing Persons On Board Such Aircraft.
Last updated: Friday, April 12, 2024