Designated Pilot Examiners (DPE)

Effective October 2, 2018, we have removed the geographical limitations for all Flight Standard Service DPEs. This modification provides DPEs with the ability to conduct tests anywhere within the United States and increases the limit for providing tests to three per day.

A Designated Pilot Examiner (DPE) is an individual, appointed in accordance with 14 CFR section 183.23, who meets the qualification requirements of the Order 8900.2, General Aviation Airman Designee Handbook, and who:

  • is technically qualified;
  • holds all pertinent category, class, and type ratings for each aircraft related to their designation;
  • meets requirements of 14 CFR part 61, sections 61.56, 61.57, and 61.58, as appropriate;
  • is current and qualified to act as pilot-in-command (PIC) of each aircraft for which they are authorized;
  • maintains at least a third-class medical certificate, if required; and, maintains a current flight instructor certificate, if required.

A DPE for a rotorcraft/helicopter designation must hold the appropriate category, class, and, if appropriate, type ratings. Examiner's authorizations will be issued on the basis of each make and basic model of helicopter, regardless of the aircraft's size and power.

Find Designated Pilot Examiners (DPE)

Information for DPEs

Become a DPE

Last updated: Monday, April 19, 2021