USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

FAI FSS - Air Traffic Control

There is no class B airspace in Alaska, and Anchorage has the only class C airspace in the state. Most of Alaska has few air traffic control towers (ATCTs). There are 4 in the Anchorage area, 3 in the Fairbanks area, and another 6 scattered out across the rest of the state for a total of 13 statewide. That's not a lot for a state this big.

Anchorage Air Route Traffic Control Center (ARTCC) airspace covers the entire state of Alaska. Beyond that, they also have quite a bit of oceanic airspace over international waters surrounding Alaska.

There are a lot of special procedures for various locations in Alaska published in the back sections of the Alaska Supplement. Some are recommended and some are mandatory. For example, 14 CFR Part 93 contains Special Air Traffic Rules for both Anchorage and Ketchikan, which is part of the information included in the Supplement. Anyone planning flight into Alaska should study this resource carefully and it is available free online, although you should also have a paper copy with you in the aircraft. Download portions of the Alaska Supplement.

Last updated: Monday, July 27, 2020