College student working at a station in a busy computer lab.

The FAA has created a network of partnerships with colleges, universities and trade schools meant to prepare graduating students to pursue their goal of a career in aviation with the FAA. Known as the Collegiate Training Initiative (CTI).

Technical Operations — Collegiate Training Initiative (TO-CTI)

Formerly known as the Airway Facilities Collegiate Training Initiative, the TO-CTI schools provide training and education resources to individuals preparing for aerospace careers, as well as continuing education to current employees. We hire students from CTI schools for entry-level careers such as:

  • Airway Transportation Systems Specialists (Job Series 2101)
  • Computer Systems Specialists (Job Series 0334)
  • Electronics Engineers (Job Series 0855)
  • Electronic Technicians (Job Series 0856)
  • Environmental Protection Specialists (Job Series 0028)
  • Engineering Technicians (Job Series 0802)
  • General Engineers (Job Series 0801)

Air Traffic — Collegiate Training Initiative (AT-CTI)

AT-CTI schools offer two- and four-year non-engineering aviation degrees that teach basic courses in air traffic control and aviation administration. The AT-CTI program is designed to provide qualified candidates for developmental air traffic control specialist positions.

Graduates of the AT-CTI program are eligible to bypass the Air Traffic Basics Course, which is the first five weeks of qualification training at the FAA Academy in Oklahoma City. Academy training consists of option-specific (terminal or en route) initial training. Students must successfully complete all required training at the FAA Academy to continue employment with FAA.

Contact the FAA-approved colleges and trade schools directly to get more information on applying to participate in TO-CTI and AT-CTI programs.

Approved Technical Operations CTI Schools

Western Service Area
Name Location Degree(s)
Antelope Valley College Lancaster, CA AS in Electronics Technology (PDF)
Chabot College Hayward, CA AS in Electronic System Technology (PDF)
College of Southern Nevada Las Vegas, NV AAS in Electronics Engineering Technology (PDF)
Guam Community College Guam AAS in Computer Networking (PDF)
Heald College Honolulu, HI AAS in Electronics Technology (PDF)
Los Angeles Trade Technical College Los Angeles, CA AS in Electronics Technology (PDF)
Mesa Community College Mesa, AZ AAS in Electronics Technology (PDF)
Metro State College of Denver Denver, CO BS in Electrical Engineering Technology (PDF)
North Seattle Community College Seattle, WA
Olympic College Bremerton, WA ATA in Electronics (PDF)
Sacramento City College Sacramento, CA
Weber State University Ogden, UT
Central Service Area
Name Location Degree(s)
Delgado Community College New Orleans, LA AS in Electrical-Electronics Engineering Technology (PDF)
Devry University Addison Campus Addison, IL
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) Indianapolis, IN
Ivy Tech Indianapolis, IN
Johnson County Community College Overland Park, KS AAS in Electronics Technology (PDF)
Linn State Technical College Linn, MO AS in Electronics Engineering Technology (PDF)
Lorain County Community College Elyria, OH
Milwaukee School of Engineering Milwaukee, WI BS in Electrical Engineering Technology (PDF)
Oklahoma State University Oklahoma City, OK AAS in Electronics Engineering Technology (PDF)
San Antonio College San Antonio, TX AAS in Electronics Technology (PDF)
Southeast Community College-Lincoln Campus Lincoln, NE AAS in Electronics Systems Technology (PDF)
Southern Illinois University Carbondale, IL BS in Electronic Systems Technologies (PDF)
Tarrant County Community College Fort Worth, TX
Texas A & M College Station, TX
University of Arkansas Little Rock, AK BS in Engineering Technology (PDF)
University of North Texas Denton, TX BS in Engineering Technology (PDF)
Wayne County Community College District Detroit, MI
Western Technical College El Paso, TX Associate of Occupational Studies in Electronics Engineering Technology (AOSEET) (PDF)
Eastern Service Area
Name Location Degree(s)
Broward Community College Coconut Creek, FL
Eastern Maine Community College (EMCC) Bangor, ME Associate of Applied Science in Electrical and Automation Technology (PDF)
ECPI University Virginia Beach, VA
Miami Dade College Miami, FL
Nashua Community College Nashua, NE Associate Science in Electronics Engineering Technology (PDF)
Nassau Community College Garden City, NY AAS in Electrical Engineering Technology (PDF)
Naugatuck Community College Waterbury, CT Associate of Applied Science in Electronics Engineering Technology (PDF)
New England Institute of Technology Warwick, RI
Prince Georges Community College Largo, MD AAS in Electronics Engineering Technology (PDF)
Southwest Tennessee Community College Memphis, TN AAS in Electronics Technology (PDF)
University of Puerto Rico in Bayamon Puerto Rico BS in Electronics Engineering Technology (PDF)
Vaughn College of Aeronautics and Technology Flushing, NY
Vermont Technical College Randolph Center, VT
Wentworth Institute of Technology Boston, MA

Approved Air Traffic Operations CTI Schools

Western Service Area
Name Location Point of Contact Degree(s)
Aims Community College Greeley, Colorado Larry Stephen, ATC Program Coordinator, larry.stephen@aims.edu, (970) 339-6652
Arizona State University Mesa, Arizona Verne Latham, verne.latham@asu.edu, (480) 727-1652 Bachelor of Science
Eastern New Mexico University Roswell, New Mexico Deborah Abingdon, Air Traffic Control Faculty, Deborah.abingdon@roswell.enmu.edu, (575) 624-7023 Associate of Applied Science
Embry Riddle Aeronautical University Prescott, Arizona Brent Spencer, Assistant Professor, Project Coordinator, Brent.Spencer@erau.edu, (928) 777-3869 Bachelor of Science
Green River Community College Auburn, Washington Curtis E. (Curt) Scott, Aviation and ATC Instructor, cscott@greenriver.edu, (253) 833-9111 X4335 Associate Degree
Metropolitan State College of Denver Denver, Colorado Kevin Kuhlmann, Professor of Aviation and Aerospace Science, kuhlmank@mscd.edu, (303) 556-4623 Bachelor of Science
Mount San Antonio College Walnut, California Robert Rogus, Aeronautics Faculty, Co-Chairman Aeronautics Department, CTI Coordinator, rrogus@mtsac.edu, (909) 274-5006 Associate Degree
Sacramento City College Sacramento, California Scott Miller, Lead Instructor, AT-CTI, millers@scc.losrios.edu, (916) 558-2502 Associate Degree
University of Alaska Anchorage Anchorage, Alaska Sharon LaRue, Associate Professor, afsll@uaa.alaska.edu, (907) 786-7218
Central Service Area
Name Location Point of Contact Degree(s)
Hesston College Hesston, Kansas Dan Miller, Aviation Director, danm@hesston.edu, (800) 995-7257 X8315 Associate of Applied Arts and Science
Kent State University Kent, Ohio Maureen McFarland, Academic Program Director, Aeronautics Division, mmcfarl2@kent.edu, (330) 672-9867 Bachelor of Science
LeTourneau University Longview, Texas Jon Weber, Senior Admissions Counselor, Jonweber@letu.edu, (903) 233-4335
Lewis University Romeoville, Illinois Michael K. Streit, Assistant Chair, Aviation and Transportation Studies, streitmi@lewisu.edu, (815) 836-5431
Middle Tennessee State University Murfreesboro, Tennessee Gail M. Zlotky, Associate Professor, gzlotky@mtsu.edu, (615) 898-2290 Bachelor of Science
Minneapolis Community and Technical College Minneapolis, Minnesota Trena Mathis, ATC-CTI Program Coordinator, trena.mathis@minneapolis.edu, (612) 200-5458 Associate of Applied Science
Purdue University West Lafayette, Indiana Michael S. Nolan, Professor of Aviation Technology, mnolan@purdue.edu, (765) 494-9962
Texas State Technical College Waco, Texas Dar Klontz, ATC Department Chair, dar.klontz@tstc.edu, (254) 867-2086 Associate of Applied Science
Tulsa Community College Tulsa, Oklahoma Dr. Matthew Wise, Director/Chief Flight Instructor, mwise@tulsacc.edu, (918) 828-4254 Associate of Applied Science
University of North Dakota Grand Forks, North Dakota Paul V.J. Drechsel, Associate Professor/Co-Director ATC Program, drechsel@aero.und.edu, (701) 777-4923 Bachelor of Science
University of Oklahoma Norman, Oklahoma Stephen West, Director, AT-CTI Training Program, stephenwest@ou.edu, (405) 325-3586 Bachelor of Science
Western Michigan University Kalamazoo, Michigan Ryan C. Seiler, Faculty Specialist II, College of Aviation, ryan.seiler@wmich.edu, (269) 964-6652 Bachelor of Science
Eastern Service Area
Name Location Point of Contact Degree(s)
Broward College Fort Lauderdale, Florida Ramon Claudio, Director of Air Traffic Control Program, rclaudio@broward.edu, 954-201-8669 Associate of Applied Science
Community College of Beaver County Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania James E. Scott, ATC Coordinator, Jim.Scott@ccbc.edu, (724) 480-3603 Associate of Applied Science
Daniel Webster College Nashua, New Hampshire Peter Wyman, Associate Professor, Air Traffic Management, wyman_peter@dwc.edu, (603) 577-6204 Bachelor of Science
Dowling College Oakdale, New York Joseph Donofrio, Assistant Professor of Aviation, (631) 244-1320
Embry Riddle Aeronautical University Daytona Beach, Florida Dr. William Coyne, Associate Professor, Program Coordinator Air Traffic Management, william.coyne@erau.edu, (386) 226-6794
Florida Institute of Technology College of Aeronautics Melbourne, Florida Donna Wilt, Air Traffic Program Administrator, dwilt@fit.edu, (321) 674-8120
Florida State College at Jacksonville Jacksonville, Florida Sam Fischer, Program Manager, Aviation Degrees, sam.fischer@fscj.edu, (904) 317-3844 Associate Degree
Hampton University Hampton, Virginia Margaret Browning, Assistant Professor and CTI Program Manager, Margaret.browning@hamptonu.edu, (757) 727-5520
InterAmerican University of Puerto Rico Bayamón, Puerto Rico Jorge E. Calaf, Dean of School of Aeronautics, jcalaf@bayamon.inter.edu, (787) 279-1912 X2401 Bachelor of Science
Jacksonville University Jacksonville, Florida Dr. Juan R. Merkt, Director and Associate Professor of Aeronautics, jmerkt@ju.edu, (904) 256-7895 Bachelor of Science
Miami Dade College Miami, Florida Diana D Lewis, Director, dlewis4@mdc.edu, (305) 237-5911 Associates Degree
Middle Georgia State College Cochran, Georgia Ramey Pace, Chair, Air Traffic Management Department, ramey.pace@mga.edu, (478) 448-4701
The Community College of Baltimore County Baltimore, Maryland Douglas Williams, Aviation Program Director, dwilliams@ccbcmd.edu, (443) 840-4157 Associate of Applied Science
Vaughn College of Aeronautics and Technology East Elmhurst, New York Domenic Proscia, Executive Director of Training, domenic.proscia@vaughn.edu, (718) 429-6600 X139

Career Fields

Take control of your career. The FAA has many opportunities for you to contribute to our safe and efficient skies. Below is a sample of possible career fields:

Air Traffic Control Specialists · Technical Operations Specialists · Aviation Safety Inspectors · Engineers · Contract Specialists

More careers